Skip to content

Walking the Tightrope: An Introduction

December 10, 2009

Would you do something for me, Liesel?  You told me about the goal, but I don’t know what sort of day it is up there.  I don’t know if you scored it in the sun, or if the clouds have covered everything.  Could you go up and tell me how the weather looks?

 

Words are one of our most prized possessions, perhaps second only to the gift of ideas.   And though the idea may come first, we need the words to make it real.

 

The sky is blue today, Max, and there is a big long cloud, and it’s stretched out like a rope.  At the end of it, the sun is like a yellow hole…

 

It is here that I plan to do just that: to put my ponderings, my overthought musings and my off-the-wall insights on books, movies, and life in general, into words – and sometimes illustrations (P=1000W, where P = picture, W = Word). 

I can hardly promise life-changing inspiration, but hopefully, like Max and Liesel, I can express things with a little more imagination. 

 

The Wall-Written Words of Max Vandenburg:
It was a Monday, and they walked on a tightrope to the sun.

 

Italicised quotes from “The Book Thief”, by Markus Zusak

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

